Some Good Soup

Let’s talk about soup for a moment.  I like to make soup.  Here is what I like to put in my three quart pot to get things going:

  • 2 quarts of water
  • 1 tablespoon “BETTER THAN BOUILLON” Beef Base

I bring the above two ingredients to a boil and then add:

  • 1/2 cup brown rice

I cut the heat and allow that to simmer for about 20 minutes.  In the meantime, I get a fresh onion from the fridge, dice it up, and then set it aside.  Also, I open a small can of mushroom stems and pieces, pour the juice into my pot, and dice those up and set them aside.  At the end 20 minutes, I add the following to my pot:

  • 1/4 cup brown lentils

I continue to simmer the added ingredients for about the next 15 minutes.  In the meantime, I take one or two cloves of fresh garlic, dice them up, and allow it to rest for about 10 minutes.  This will give the beneficial components in garlic an opportunity to work on behalf of my health, or, if you’re coming over to my place for a bowl of soup, your health.

So about ten minutes have passed, and I’m now ready to add:

  • diced onions
  • cut up mushrooms
  • 1 can of Chili Beans
  • 1 can of Golden Sweet Corn

I allow the above to simmer about five minutes. During the last five minutes of cooking, I’ll add:

  • my chopped up garlic

In addition, I’ll add:

  • 1 tablespoon 76 degree coconut oil

Now I have a nice soup that is not too watery and ready to eat.  Notice I added no meat to the soup. The brown rice, beans, corn, and lentils give me a whole protein.  I’m not a vegetarian.  But still, this is an easy recipe that calls for relatively non-perishable items.

Try it some time.  Maybe you’ll like it.

Published in: on Mar 6, 2012 at 11:26 AM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nonexpert35.wordpress.com/2012/03/06/some-good-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

